University of Arkansas | Fort Smith

The award winning Comfort Inn & Suites is a proud supporter of the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith! At just 2.8 miles away, the Comfort Inn & suites serves as the perfect "home away from home" when visiting the campus.

UAFS at a Glance

Each semester, more than 7,100 students begin their future at the University of Arkansas – Fort Smith. Established as a junior college with 34 students in 1928, the university expanded in size and vision over the years, finally taking on its current name and identity as a premier regional university when it joined the University of Arkansas System in 2002.

UAFS is one of 13 academic institutions and four other units governed by the University of Arkansas System board of trustees and administered by the president of the system. System offices are located in Little Rock. As a public university, UAFS is overseen by the Arkansas Department of Higher Education.

Quick Facts About UAFS

Name: University of Arkansas – Fort Smith

Founded: 1928

Location: Fort Smith, second-largest city in Arkansas, population 86,209 (Ref: Census 2010)

Chancellor: Paul B. Beran, Ph.D.

History: Fort Smith Junior College (1928) / Westark Junior College (1966) / Westark Community College (1972) / Westark College (1998) / University of Arkansas – Fort Smith (2002)

School colors: Navy, white and burgundy

Mascot: Numa the Lion

Campus: 170 acres / 65 campus buildings and facilities / 1.16 million building square feet maintained

2014 fall enrollment: 6,823

Student-to-faculty ratio: 18-to-1

Academic programs: 74 total (33 bachelor’s degrees, 14 associate degrees, 27 certificates)

Degrees awarded: 1,304 (2012-13)

Student activities: More than 90 organizations, including fraternities and sororities

Athletics: NCAA Division II, Heartland Conference